White House Office of Science and Technology Policy Launches New Energy Division, Appoints New Deputy Director for Energy

Following COP26 and the Bipartisan Infrastructure Deal’s historic investments in clean energy infrastructure and innovation, the new Energy Division at the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy demonstrates the Biden-Harris Administration’s science-based commitment to reach a net-zero emissions clean energy economy by 2050.

On November 24, 2021, the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy (OSTP) announced the launch of a new Energy Division and the hiring of Dr. Sally Benson, as Deputy Director for Energy and Chief Strategist for the Energy Transition at OSTP, and Dr. Costa Samaras, as Principal Assistant Director for Energy and Chief Advisor for Energy Policy at OSTP. The moves reinforce the Biden-Harris administration’s commitment to using science-based approaches to reduce emissions and scale-up a clean and equitable energy system.

The OSTP Energy Division will develop national clean energy innovation plans to ensure America’s continued leadership in clean energy innovation and ensure the United States gets to net-zero emissions by 2050. Dr. Benson, Dr. Samaras, and the Energy Division will collaborate with Administration science and climate advisors, including White House National Climate Advisor Gina McCarthy and OSTP Deputy Director for Climate and Environment Dr. Jane Lubchenco.

(Source: The White House Briefing Room)

ClimaTwin™ empowers infrastructure stakeholders to mitigate climate risks and assess adaptation actions across the total asset lifecycle.

© 2021 ClimaTwin Corp. ClimaTwin™, ClimaTwin Basic™, ClimaTwin Enterprise™, and the ClimaTwin logo are trademarks of ClimaTwin Corp. All rights reserved.


Subscribe to the ClimaTwin Newsletter

Join us today and get exclusive updates about infrastructure digital twins and climate risk intelligence.

You have Successfully Subscribed!