Disaster resilience by providing resources to the most at-risk and in-need communities

Read more

Strengthening Resiliency with The Community Disaster Resilience Zones Act

Disaster resilience by providing resources to the most at-risk and in-need communities

The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) is requesting comments on the Federal Register Request for Information (RFI) in support of the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) efforts to implement the Community Disaster Resilience Zones (CDRZ) Act of 2022. Signed into law by President Biden on December 20th, 2022, the CDRZ Act strengthens disaster resilience across our nation by providing resources to underserved communities and vulnerable populations. Further, the community disaster resilience zones gain support to access federal funds, helping resilience project stakeholders to mitigate risks and reduce impacts, caused by climate extremes and natural hazards. Also, the CDRZ Act enables communities to collaborate across a broad spectrum of federal and private sector partners, maximizing government funding and providing technical assistance. Accordingly, FEMA is hosting a series of listening sessions in support of CDRZ.

About the Community Disaster Resilience Zones Act of 2022

Public Law No: 117-255 (12/20/2022). This act requires the President to continue to maintain a natural hazard assessment program that develops and maintains publicly available products to show the risk of natural hazards across the United States. Such products shall show the risk of natural hazards and include ratings and data for loss exposure, social vulnerability, community resilience, and any other element determined by the President. The President shall (1) review the underlying methodology of any product that is a natural hazard risk assessment and receive public input on the methodology and data used for the product, and (2) consider including additional data in any product that is a natural disaster hazard risk assessment. Additionally, the President must conduct such reviews to evaluate and update the assessments at least every five years. Using the reviewed assessments, the President must periodically identify and designate community disaster resilience zones (CDRZs), which shall be (1) the 50 census tracts assigned the highest individual hazard risk ratings; and (2) in each state, not less than 1% of census tracts that are assigned a high individual risk rating, taking into consideration specified geographic balance. The President may provide financial, technical, or other assistance to an eligible entity (a state, Indian tribal government, or local government) that plans to perform a resilience or mitigation project within, or that primarily benefits, a CDRZ.

About ClimaTwin®

ClimaTwin® is a leading climate risk intelligence solution for infrastructure assets and the built environment.

We empower infrastructure stakeholders to mitigate climate risks and assess adaptation actions across the total asset lifecycle. By connecting complex climate models and infrastructure digital twins, our solution enables engineers, owner-operators, and governments to aggregate, visualize, and analyze disparate datasets, revealing site-specific insights at a hyper-local scale. Benefits include 5-10x near-term returns and lifetime cost-avoidance by mitigating risks to systems, services, and societies.

To learn more about climate risk intelligence for your infrastructure assets, please visit www.climatwin.com today.

© 2023 ClimaTwin Corp.

ClimaTwin® is a registered trademark of ClimaTwin Corp. ClimaTwin Basic™, ClimaTwin Enterprise™, the ClimaTwin logo, and Climate Risk Intelligence for Infrastructure Digital Twins™ are trademarks of ClimaTwin Corp. All rights reserved.


Subscribe to the ClimaTwin Newsletter

Join us today and get exclusive updates about climate risk intelligence.

You have Successfully Subscribed!